South Florida's Four National Parks

Lorea Thomson
Posted by Lorea Thomson
Updated on
Published in Arts & Culture

South Florida is well known for its gorgeous beaches, beautiful waterfront homes and relaxed lifestyle. Most people are not aware that there are four national parks here that help define South Florida's diverse beauty, landscape and enrich the culture.  The four parks are Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park, Dry Tortugas National Parks and Big Cypress National Preserve.

The national parks concept began in the mid-1800s because a small consortium of Americans felt it was important to preserve these wonderful places for all time and for everyone. These were folks that truly felt these natural areas were significant and important wonders worth celebrating and protecting.  The national parks movement started with a California valley so majestic and beautiful, known as Yosemite. Settlers from the east were moving relentlessly westward, civilizing the region, and changing it forever. No one wanted to see places like Yosemite fall victim to progress.

Yosemite itself officially came under protection during the Civil War thanks to President Lincoln. However, Yellowstone would become America’s first bona fide national park when Ulysses S. Grant designated it as such in 1872.

It goes without saying that some natural places are so special, that protecting and preserving them seems like a “no-brainer”. The South Florida National Parks Trust is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization established in 2002 to support four national parks in South Florida which receives NO government funding and relies solely on support of private donors.


Email Send a link to post via Email

Leave A Comment

Please note that your email address is kept private upon posting.